Our Staff



Our 2014 Tribe Leaders at “Tacky Dinner”

All Tribe Leaders, Camp Staff and volunteers are background checked through the Maine State Police/Department of Public Safety.

Tribe Leaders – All of our Tribe Leaders are leaders in our community and excel in role modeling and teamwork. The majority of these either work or study in the medical field or have extensive experience working with teenagers. Past Tribe Leaders include:

o School teachers
o Army National Guard Medics
o Medical Radiography students
o Nursing students
o EMS/Paramedic students
o University Volunteer Ambulance Corps EMTs
o Education students
o Child Development students
o Psychology/Pre-Med students

Camp Staff – Our Camp Staff, those responsible for the day-to-day operations while camp is in session, have strong backgrounds in camp management, residential life and programming.

o Alissa Gervais– a former AmeriCorps* volunteer, Alissa has also worked as a Experiential Education facilitator, Behavior Modification Counselor and Summer Camp Director before joining the EMCC team. She is employed as EMCC’s Director of Residential Life and Activities as well as Camp Survivor’s Registrar and Camp Coordinator.

o Peter Sproul – Joining our Camp Staff for 2015, Peter is a graduate of the University of Arizona and a former Peace Corps volunteer.  He is employed as EMCC’s Resident Director of Kineo Hall and acts as Camp Survivor’s Dorm Supervisor and “Go-pher”.

Planning Committee – Our planning committee is comprised of numerous professionals working in the healthcare/educational field. This dedicated group is charged with coordinating, recruiting, marketing and planning every aspect of Camp Survivor (a year-round task).

Planning Committee

Our 2015 Planning Committee

Alissa Gervais– Eastern Maine Community College
Nicole Gray – Eastern Maine Medical Center
Amanda Klausing – Penobscot Community Health Center
Lauren Nason – Penobscot Community Health Center
Kelly Pearson – EMHS Foundation
Peter Sproul – Eastern Maine Community College
Sheree Tillson – Eastern Maine Medical Center
Martha Wildman – Eastern Maine Medical Center
Nichole Wright – Acadia Hospital