NECHE Accreditation Public Disclosure

Eastern Maine Community College (EMCC) will undergo a comprehensive evaluation visit March 17-20, 2019, by a team representing the New England Commission of Higher Education (formerly the Commission on Institutions of Higher Education of the New England Association of Schools and Colleges, NEASC).

The New England Commission of Higher Education is one of seven accrediting
commissions in the United States that provide institutional accreditation on a regional
basis. Accreditation is voluntary and applies to the institution as a whole. The
Commission, which is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, accredits
approximately 220 institutions in the six-state New England region as well as several
American-style institutions overseas.

EMCC has been accredited by the Commission since 1973 and was last reviewed in 2009 with an interim report in 2014. Its accreditation by the Commission encompasses the entire institution. For the past year and a half, EMCC has been engaged in a process of self-study, addressing the Commission’s Standards for Accreditation. An evaluation team will visit the institution to gather evidence that the self-study is thorough and accurate. The team will recommend to the Commission a continuing status for the institution. Following a review process, the Commission itself will take the final action.

The public is invited to submit comments regarding the institution to:

Public Comment on Eastern Maine Community College (EMCC)
New England Commission of Higher Education
3 Burlington Woods Drive, Suite 100
Burlington, MA 01803-4514

Public Comments must address substantive matters related to the quality of the
institution. The Commission cannot settle disputes between individuals and institutions, whether those involve faculty, students, administrators, or members of other groups. Comments will not be treated as confidential and must include the name, address, and telephone number of the person providing the comments.
Public Comments must be received by March 20, 2019. The Commission cannot guarantee that comments received after that date will be considered.