Maine Community College Students Named to All-Maine Academic Team

April 12, 2018

Thursday, April 12, 2018

CONTACT: Karen Hamilton
(207) 767-0116, ext. 4

Maine Community College Students Named to All-Maine Academic Team

AUGUSTA, ME — Eighteen Maine community college students have been named to the All-Maine Academic Team for two-year colleges by the national Phi Theta Kappa organization. They are being honored by their individual colleges at events being held this spring.

The students receiving the award, which includes a $500 scholarship from the MCCS Board of Trustees, are:

  • Angela Cafarelli, Greene, Central Maine Community College;
  • Mark Swiedom, Hebron, Central Maine Community College;
  • Meaghan Brown, Hermon, Eastern Maine Community College;
  • Tiffany Sanborn, Milo, Eastern Maine Community College;
  • Jacob Tuell, Glenburn, Eastern Maine Community College;
  • Sharon Coolen, Unity, Kennebec Valley Community College;
  • Sonya Dodson, Burnham, Kennebec Valley Community College;
  • Jacob Chouinard, Fort Kent, Northern Maine Community College;
  • Genesis Hart, Atlantic City, NJ, Northern Maine Community College;
  • Brad Plourde, Eagle Lake, Northern Maine Community College;
  • Claudia Johnson, Islesboro, Southern Maine Community College;
  • Phyllis Mazzaglia, Londonderry, NH, Southern Maine Community College;
  • Kaitlin Barrett, Calais, Washington County Community College;
  • Jamison Bernoudy, Lincoln, VT, Washington County Community College;
  • Kari Galdeen, North Muskegon, MI, Washington County Community College;
  • Ross Norton, Lincoln, VT, Washington County Community College;
  • Beth Carroll, Berwick, York County Community College;
  • Debra Harding, Sanford, York County Community College.

In addition, Sonya Dodson (KVCC) and Jacob Chouinard (NMCC) have been named Maine New Century Scholars in recognition of having achieved the highest scores in the state on their All-USA Academic Team applications.

Dodson has been named the 2018 Maine New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar. She will receive a $2,250 scholarship and represent Maine at the American Association of Community Colleges’ annual convention in April.

Chouinard is the 2018 Maine New Century Workforce Pathway Scholar. He will receive a $1,250 scholarship and will be invited to an Association of Community College Trustees event in October to receive his award.

The All-Maine Academic Team is a program of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for two-year colleges. Students are nominated and selected for the team by their college based on outstanding academic achievement, leadership, and service.